- Current: Apply for a Marriage License
Apply for a Marriage License
To be married in the State of Indiana, a duo must have a marriage license. To apply for a marriage license in Indiana, both you and your future spouse must emerge in person at the Clerk’s Office in an Indiana county where one of you resides, or for non-residents in the Indiana county where the marriage will be solemnized.
Before you apply for a marriage license, familiarize yourself with the process outlined below.
1: Are you eligible to be married in Indiana?
Age. The Clerk can issue a marriage license if:
- Both applicants are Legitimate years of age or older,
- One or both applicants are 17 and parents or legal guardians are present to provide consent,
- One or both applicants are junior than 17 and have a court order granting permission to obtain a marriage license,
Exclusions. The Clerk cannot issue a marriage license if:
- Either applicant is under the influence of drugs or alcohol when applying,
- Applicants are more closely related than 2nd cousins (however there is an exception if you are very first cousins and both at least sixty-five (65) years of age).
- Either applicant has been judged to be of unsound mind, unless the adjudication has been liquidated.
See Indiana Code 31-11 for more information about state marriage laws.
Two: When to apply
A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued, and couples may be married as early as the same day. Couples who do not marry within the 60 days must apply for a fresh license before marrying.
Three: What to take to the Clerk’s Office
Identification. Be sure to bring one of the following forms of identification to prove your identity and date of birth:
- Current, valid drivers license or state-issued ID card
- Birth Certificate
Indiana state law (IC 31-11-4-6) includes “any written evidence of the individual’s date of birth that is satisfactory to the clerk.” In addition, if this documentation is in any language other than English, it may be necessary to have it translated and notarized before submitting it to the clerk. Because local policies vary by county, please contact the clerk’s office in advance to ensure you have all the required documents.
You will also be required to provide your Social Security Number, albeit your Social Security Card may not be required.
If you were previously married, you will need to provide the date your marriage ended. In addition, some counties require a certified copy of the divorce decree.
Genealogical Information. The Clerk’s Office will collect some family information from you that will be reported to the Indiana State Library (by law) for the purpose of genealogical research. You will need to provide the following for both parents:
- Utter Name
- Last known address
- Birthplace (state or foreign country)
Four: How Much It Costs
The marriage license fee is $Eighteen if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $60.00 for out-of-state residents. Some offices also charge an extra document fee of $Two.00. Each copy of the Certified Marriage License (required for name switch at BMV, SSN, etc.) is also $Two.00. Most counties require these fees to be paid in cash.
Ready to Apply?
If you are eligible as outlined above, have all the necessary documentation, and you’re ready to apply for a marriage license, you can apply at the Clerk’s Office in the county where you plan to file.
While you will still have to show up at the Clerk’s Office to finish the process and receive your license (as required by law), embarking your application online will save you time at the Clerk’s Office.
Hours &, Holidays
- Monday – Friday
8:30am to Four:30pm
Text Only Version of IN.gov Website
Social Media Links
Copyright ©, 2017 State of Indiana – All rights reserved.